Honors Societies Induction – Spring 2022

On Wednesday, March 16th the officers and moderators of the four Archbishop Shaw Honor Societies’ led a ceremony to induct their new members. The inductees completed a rigorous application process and were ultimately chosen to represent their school for their achievements in academics, discipline, and character. Each group’s inductees were called upon and successfully made their pledge to honor the group’s bylaws and were awarded full membership.

Mu Alpha Theta(ΜΑΘ): the United States mathematics honor society for high school and two-year college students. In June 2015, the organization served over 108,000 student members in over 2200 chapters in the US and in 20 foreign countries. Its main goals are to inspire keen interest in mathematics, develop strong scholarship in the subject, and promote the enjoyment of mathematics in high school and two year college students. The name is a rough transliteration of math into Greek (Mu Alpha Theta).



 Logan Anderson          Brett Boudreaux          Jacob Cooper          Joseph Loyola IV          Ayden Damare               

Andrew Do                    Raymond Howard       Braden Cortez         Enrico Tapia                 Alexander Indest   

Isaac Van                       Everett Wappler

The National Honor Society (NHS): the nation’s premier organization established to recognize outstanding high school students. More than just an honor roll, NHS serves to recognize those students who have demonstrated excellence in the areas of scholarship, service, leadership, and character. These characteristics have been associated with membership in the organization since its beginning in 1921. Today, it is estimated that more than one million students participate in NHS activities. NHS chapters are found in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, many U.S. territories, and Canada. Chapter membership not only recognizes students for their accomplishments, but challenges them to develop further through active involvement in school activities and community service.


    Logan Anderson        Rayan Chaar          Jeffery Chiasson                Braden Cortez          Christian Creppel          Carson Dalton                         

Ayden Damare           Kaiden Fury          Raymond Howard              Seth Guidry              Dylan Huynh                  Alexander Indest                   

Ethan Le                      Austin Rudolph


The Spanish Honor Society(SHS) provides over $160,000 in awards to its chapters and members. The most prestigious awards are college scholarships to 60 high school seniors and travel awards to 24 high school juniors from around the country (Bertie Green Travel Awards). The Bertie Green Travel Award destinations have included summer trips to Argentina, Peru, Mexico, and Spain. Each chapter can only nominate one student for each of those awards. There are also several awards for chapters and sponsors each year.


Garrett Alello          Evan Anderson       Raymond Howard          James Nero          Austin Rudolph          Enrico Tapia           

Isaac Van           Trevor Whitted       Aldrich Wilberg      Logan Anderson             Mason Bui           Christian Creppel       

Carson Dalton        Ethan Le             Jordan Evans           Kilas Francis           Seth Guidry           


Science National Honor Society:(SNHS): America has been honoring brilliant students through honor societies since 1921. Educators began to notice the need for subject specific honor societies in America’s high schools in the 1980’s. Since then, new honor societies have sprung up to recognize and encourage students in such areas as English, Art, French, and Spanish. Until now, there has been no national honor society for Science. In this era of rapidly changing technologies and scientific advancement, it is time to encourage and recognize high school students in the Sciences. SNHS is a prominent scientific organization that will engender a new group of young thinkers who will be the future of industry, research, and scientific exploration for America.


 Logan Anderson          Braden Cortez          Ayden Damare          Raymond Howard           Joseph Loyola IV            Ethan Le                               

Aiden Szewczyk           Enrico Tapia             Isaac Van               Trevor Whitted