Soccer At Shaw

The Soccer Program consists of three levels of competition: junior high, junior varsity, and varsity. Archbishop Shaw’s soccer program competes in District 9 Class 5A, which is known as the Catholic League. The Catholic League is made up of the following schools: Archbishop Shaw, St. Augustine, Jesuit, Brother Martin, Archbishop Rummel, Holy Cross, and John Curtis.

Varsity and junior varsity soccer begin with conditioning and weight training in the fall.  The official beginning of practice is determined by LHSAA regulations. Currently, that is the second Monday in October.  Junior High tryouts will take place in the Fall. Varsity and junior varsity seasons begin in mid-November and run through the end of January.  Team members are expected to attend all practices/games during the holiday seasons.  Eighth- and 9th-grade teams begin in late November.

Players must earn a spot on the team (all levels) through a rigorous tryout process.


District Champions: 1992; 2013; 2021

Head Coach: Ray Markase

Assistant Coaches: Colin Richwine



Follow Us: