Driver’s Education

Registration is now open for August 2024!

August RegistrationSchedule


Archbishop Shaw Driver’s Education is a 38-hour driver’s education course and State-certified third-party Tester for high school students.

We accept students from any school.

IMPORTANT: Students are required by state law to attain a Class E Temporary Instructional Permit (TIP) card BEFORE any instruction may take place. Please visit the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles website for more details.

 

There are 2 Components to Archbishop Shaw’s Driver’s Ed Program

  • 38- Hour Course (30 Hours in the Classroom / 8 Behind the Wheel)
    • This course is scheduled using our online form and must be completed in its entirety according to guidelines in the document below.
  • 3rd Party Road Skills Testing – 
    • This test can be scheduled after the 6 month permit waiting period – during this time a parent/guardian should complete at least 50 hours of driving time with the driver.
    • Coach Baiamonte will reach out via preferred phone contact to schedule the date/time and by email with necessary forms. 
    • 3rd Party Testing Fee: $40
    • Car Rental Fee: $20
      • Fee can be waived if the student provides their own vehicle for testing. 

Class Fee:  $430.00 – Cost covers all instructional hours and materials.

Classroom Materials: 1. Black or Blue Pen 2. Folder 3. Red Pen 4. Highlighter 5. Textbook (Provided the first day of class)


For more information contact us at

Archbishop Shaw High School Office Phone: 504-340-6727

Email: Mike Baiamonte at  baiamonte4@archbishopshaw.us

Cell: 504-615-2593

IMPORTANT: Students are required by state law to attain a Class E Temporary Instructional Permit (TIP) card BEFORE any instruction may take place. Please visit the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles website for more details.


August 2024 Schedule

Classroom location: LibraryClassroom Schedule:

8/17 8a-4p
8/18 8a-4p
8/24 8a-4p
8/25 8a-4p

*Parents or Legal Guardians are required to attend an introductory meeting on August 17th at  7:30a in the Library.

Summer 2024 Schedule

Classroom location: LibraryClassroom Schedule:

5/28 7:30a-4p
5/29 7:30a-4p
5/30 7:30a-4p
5/31 7:30a-4p

*Parents or Legal Guardians are required to attend an introductory meeting on May 28th at  7:30a in the Library.


Benefits of driver education

  • Driver education can improve safety
  • Driver education courses increase the awareness of drivers everywhere
  • Driver education can improve a driver’s confidence
  • Driver education can help a person to overcome his/her fear of driving
  • Driver education is an excellent way to improve the safety of our roads

IMPORTANT: Students are required by state law to attain a Class E Temporary Instructional Permit (TIP) card BEFORE any instruction may take place. Please visit the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles website for more details.

Course Specifications:

  1. Driver’s Ed requires perfect attendance for 9 classes. The classes will be a total of 30 hours. If for any reason a student cannot attend a class, please notify Archbishop Shaw before the class begins for a full refund. In the event that a student has to miss a class without the opportunity to withdraw, the student will receive credit for the attended classes; however, he/she will have to make-up the class at a later date when the next Driver’s Ed course is offered.
  2. Each student will be required to receive eight hours of behind-the-wheel driving lessons. These lessons are scheduled by appointment at a time convenient for the student and instructor. 
  3. The 30 hours of class time required by law is rigorous with classroom activity and testing. No electronic communication devices will be allowed for use during classroom and testing times. Students will be allowed one break per three hours of class time. Students may walk outside to use their phones at the assigned break time.
  4. Cheating is strictly prohibited. Any student found cheating will be immediately dismissed from the class and unable to return.
  5. To successfully complete Driver’s Ed, the student will be required to score 80% or better on tests and the final during the classroom portion. After the driving portion is completed, the student will be required to score 70% or better driving a state certified Road Skills Test.
  6. Additional Charges: $50/hr extra driving lessons.
  7. Any grievance(s) not resolved by the school may be forwarded to:
    Department of Public Safety and Corrections, Public Safety Services,
    Office of Motor Vehicles, Attn.: Training and Certification Unit,
    P.O. Box 64886, Baton Rouge, LA, 70896-4886.
  8. Alternative testing techniques are available for those with visual, hearing, and speech disabilities.

IMPORTANT: Students are required by state law to attain a Class E Temporary Instructional Permit (TIP) card BEFORE any instruction may take place. Please visit the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles website for more details.

August Registration

There was a problem with your submission. Please review the fields below.



    Follow Us: